Skip to main content
All CollectionsContributionsTransactions
How do I close/post a contribution batch?
How do I close/post a contribution batch?

Describes how to close a transaction/contribution batch and optionally post it to accounting.

Updated over a week ago

You will need the Full Write Contribution permission to perform this action.

Important: It is highly recommended to only close batches once you've confirmed the money for that batch has been deposited in your organization's bank account. If a batch remains open for more than two weeks, a to-do list item will appear on the home dashboard of users who can close batches.

Closing a single batch

Navigate to the batch you would like to close. Then choose "Close batch" in the "Actions" menu in the upper right. You can also click on the "Open" status label at the top of the screen to do the same thing.

-- OR --

Regardless of which method you use, the same pop up will appear. If this was an auto-generated batch from One Church Giving, you'll be asked to provide the deposit date for the batch. It is highly recommended you enter the date of the deposit in your bank account. While not required, setting a deposit date will change the posting date on the batch to accurately reflect the deposit date rather than the settlement date.

If you have accounting enabled on your subscription, the pop up will include some additional fields. You'll be given the option to post the batch to accounting (see bottom of screenshot above).

Choosing "Yes" will result in some more fields appearing.

Where was the money deposited?

This field will ask you to indicate which cash account from your chart of accounts the money from this batch was deposited into (i.e. checking account).

Which accounts should each designation go to?

This section will list all designations found on the batch and ask you which accounts (income and expense) in your chart of accounts the money should be categorized into as well as which fund it should be deposited into.

If you don't want a particular designation to be posted to accounting, toggle the green "Post" to the red "Do No Post."

How can I indicate a cash account?

You can indicate a default cash account. This account will be auto-selected for you whenever you close the batch. This default can be configured per merchant account (for auto-generated online batches) as well as for manually entered batches.

To set a default, click on the "set as default" link that appears next to the account chosen when posting a batch.

For online batches that are linked to a merchant account, you can also set this when editing the merchant settings under Contributions > Settings > Merchants from the left-hand menu.

Important: A closed batch is no longer editable and the transactions within are also no longer editable. They will not appear by default when viewing the batch listing screen. To view closed batches, clear the filters on that table.

Closing in Bulk

You can also close (and post) many batches at the same time by selecting them from the batch listing screen and clicking on "Close" in the bulk actions drop down.

The pop up that appears is the same as the one discussed in the previous section. The only difference is this would apply to multiple batches and not just one.

Reopening a batch

Did this answer your question?