Skip to main content

How do I remove, delete, or drop a group member?

Describes how to remove a group member, or drop or delete someone from a group.

You will need the Limited Write Groups permission, or to be an admin of the group, to perform this action, and the Full Write Groups permission to do it from the person's profile. The permission must reach at least one of the group's campuses.

Two options are available when removing an individual from a group:

1 - Deleting the person

2 - Adding a drop date

To keep a historical record that someone was at some point in time a member of a particular group, add a drop date.

Option 1 - Remove group member by deletion

Choose the appropriate group via Groups in the left-hand menu. Next, scroll over to the Members tab. Then select the 3-dots menu located next to the individual's name and Delete.

Delete in a group member's row menu

Note: This will delete any history that this person was ever connected to this group.

Option 2 - Remove group member by adding a drop date

Choose the appropriate group via Groups in the left-hand menu. Next, scroll over to the Members tab. Select Edit after clicking on the 3-dots menu beside the person's name.

Adding a drop date to a group member

On the pop-up screen add the date dropped in the appropriate field.

These two actions can also be performed on an individual's profile.

First, navigate to the person's profile, select the Involvement tab, then the group. From there, select the Delete button to delete the person from the group or Edit to add a drop date.

Removing a group membership from a person's Involvement tab

Tip: To add or drop people from a group using automation, see Action Task.

Other Helpful Articles

Did this answer your question?